crm for distributors

CRM for distributors: why the record falls apart in the parking lot, and how wholesale sales leaders fix the field half

Each of the five pages we read for this search is published by a company with its own product on the list. We read them in full, then what distributors and their reps say about the CRM they already own: the Distribution Strategy Group surveys of 2022, 2025 and 2026 and a former outside rep's account in Modern Distribution Management, written by the founder of a CRM company. Fetched 10 October 2026, with route figures from 3,508 planned field routes.

Andrin Iten, Founder · October 10, 2026 · 9 min read

CRM for distributors: the short answer

A CRM for distributors usually works in the office and breaks in the truck. In Distribution Strategy Group's 2022 CRM survey (96 respondents, 66 of them distributors), "only 50% of sales reps and those in sales leadership regularly used their company's CRM solution." In its 2025 report, 60% of distributors said they "use some tools, but adoption is inconsistent across the team." Among the reasons DSG gives for hard implementation and adoption: "Sales teams' perception that CRM is 'extra work'" and "Not integrated with daily tools".

The reason is the rep's day, not the rep. Chris Mitchell, a former distributor outside rep who now runs the CRM company ClearRove, wrote in MDM on August 19, 2026 that outside sales "falls apart afterward, usually in the parking lot." He puts pure CRM entry at "2 to 4 hours per week per rep." And the accounts in the CRM are a list, not a day: nothing orders them by territory, drive time and stop. None of the five pages we read for this search gives a measured drive time or number of stops per route.

Lead Mapper is the field layer on top of the CRM you keep. It reads your accounts from HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho CRM, Microsoft Dynamics, NetSuite and others, puts them on a map within 30 minutes, draws territories by drive time from 1 to 60 minutes and gives every rep an ordered route with drive mode. $27 per user per month, no seat minimum, a 7 day trial without a sales call: $1,080 a month for 40 reps (our arithmetic). Put your accounts on the map.

The question a distribution sales leader hasThe answer, in one line
Who writes the "best CRM for distributors" listsVendors with their own product on the list
How big is a field dayBenchmark team median 7.8 stops and 114 drive minutes per route, all industries
What does the field layer cost for 40 repsLead Mapper $1,080 a month, no annual contract

4:50 pm, a jobsite gate, 12 minutes to the next stop

Before he founded ClearRove, Chris Mitchell sold outside B2B on the distributor side in first aid and safety, in his own words. This is his scene in Modern Distribution Management: "You just left a jobsite with something real. Quote revision by Thursday. Three SKUs. A purchasing contact who will move if delivery holds. You have 12 minutes to the next gate. The CRM wants a full write-up. So you text yourself and drive."

Then Friday comes. In his words: "Notes that never get entered. Friday reconstructions. Fuzzy handoffs to inside sales. Special orders that slip. A Monday forecast that does not match what happened on the route." And the line every distribution sales leader recognises: "The ERP runs the order. CRM is the sidecar everyone nags about. Reps get graded on the sidecar."

Now the Monday meeting on the other side. You run 40 reps across four branches. The CRM has every account, every contact, last year's revenue. What it does not have is Tuesday: which 8 accounts each rep sees, in which order, and how far apart they are. So each rep builds it alone, from memory, from whoever called last, from last month's loop.

Who wrote the lists that rank for crm for distributors

A buyer searching "best crm for distributors" reads pages like these five, and each is published by a company with a product on the list. What matters is what the lists leave out.

Page we readIts own product on the listDrive time or stops per route named
monday.com blog"1. monday CRM"No
Pipedrive blogPipedrive first, "best all-rounder CRM"No
RepMove"RepMove is the clear choice"No
SimplyDepo"how they stack up against SimplyDepo"No
SPOTIO"SPOTIO is our product and appears in this list."No measured figure; "hours of windshield time every week" and, as a condition in its FAQ, "If your reps are on the road for 6+ hours a day"

Read in full on 10 October 2026. We searched each page for drive time, travel time, mileage and stops per route; none gives a measured figure.

The numbers do not all trace back either. SPOTIO writes that CRM adoption among distributors "grew from 55% to 72%" between 2017 and 2022, and links the Distribution Strategy Group home page. The DSG study that compares those two years, "The State of CRM in Distribution" (2022), shows the share of respondents with no CRM at 32% in 2017 and 15% in 2022. We could not find a 55 or a 72 in it. The 50% is there, word for word. RepMove writes on its own distributor page: "most CRMs do not readily support their work in a way that enhances, rather than blocks, efficiency."

What a CRM for distributors records, and what never makes it in

DSG has asked distributors about CRM in several surveys. They are different samples, so we quote each with its year and draw no trend between them. Subtractions in the last column are ours.

SurveyIn DSG's wordsOur reading for the field
DSG 2022, 96 respondents, 66 distributors"only 50% of sales reps and those in sales leadership regularly used their company's CRM solution."Half the team does not use it regularly
DSG 2025, State of Distributor Sales60% "use some tools, but adoption is inconsistent across the team."Having a CRM and using it are two numbers
DSG 2025"Only about 15% of distributors told us that their sales process is highly digital and data-driven."About 85% are not there yet
DSG 2026, State of Distributor Sales and CRM"only 16% of respondents rate contact information as excellent, and only 26% rate transaction history that way."About five in six do not rate contact data excellent, and contact data is where every route starts
DSG 2026"ERP integration, the strongest predictor of CRM satisfaction, is at 57%"Where CRM and ERP are not linked, the rep's account view misses what the ERP sells

MDM's author names the mechanism: "If data goes in and nothing useful comes back out, people do the minimum." A rep types the visit for the manager's report, and the CRM gives him nothing back for the next stop. That is the gap a field layer closes: the same accounts, returned to the rep as a map and an ordered day.

CRM for distributors outside sales reps: entry and drive, at 20, 40 and 100 reps

MDM's author sets "$75 an hour all-in for wages, benefits, truck, and phone" and gets "about $225 per rep" a week at three hours. Those are his assumptions, not a study. Scaled to your team (our arithmetic on his numbers): 20 reps carry about $4,500 a week, 40 reps $9,000, 100 reps $22,500, before anyone counts the orders that slipped.

The drive is the larger block. In the Lead Mapper Field Sales Benchmark 2026 (3,508 planned routes, no industry split, so not a distribution figure) the team median route has 114 drive minutes and 7.8 stops, and the middle half runs 6 to 22 stops. At one route per rep per day, that is 380 planned drive hours a week for 40 reps (our model: 40 x 114 minutes x 5 days). Your own number is better: reps x average daily drive minutes x 5 / 60 = hours a week.

Weekly hours in CRM entry and in the car, by team size Grouped bar chart. CRM entry at the MDM author's midpoint of 3 hours per rep per week: 60 hours for 20 reps, 120 for 40, 300 for 100. Drive time at the benchmark team median of 114 minutes per route, five routes a week: 190 hours for 20 reps, 380 for 40, 950 for 100. One week of a distribution sales team, in hours Light: CRM entry, 3 h per rep (MDM author's midpoint). Dark: drive, 114 min per route x 5 (benchmark team median). 20 reps 60 h entry 190 h drive 40 reps 120 h entry 380 h drive 100 reps 300 h entry 950 h drive Our arithmetic. MDM, 19 Aug 2026 (estimate, not a study); Lead Mapper Field Sales Benchmark 2026, all industries.
Reps get graded on the sidecar, in the MDM author's words, yet the drive is about three times the entry: 380 against 120 hours at 40 reps (our arithmetic on these two models). Every 10 minutes taken off a route returns about 33 hours a week (40 x 10 x 5 = 2,000 minutes), as much as 11 reps spend on CRM entry at the MDM author's three hours. The CRM stores accounts, not routes.

Each visit has a price. An IRCG article on NAW's site says: "most distributors we've worked with are investing $75 or $80 per sales call", once hiring, training, transport and pay are counted, and it asks whether outside reps should be regularly visiting existing customers at all: "most sales reps are market-servers, not market-makers." At $75 a call, which accounts get a visit and in what order is a cost decision. A CRM list sorted by name or owner shows neither. On a map the pattern is plain in a minute: the cluster of mid-size accounts 20 minutes from the branch that nobody visits, the rep who drives 70 minutes for one stop.

See your whole book on one map, by territory and drive time.

Connect your CRM, draw drive time territories around each branch and send tomorrow's first routes to the phones. $27 per user per month, no seat minimum, no demo call, a 7 day trial.

Start free trial

Distributor CRM software plus a field layer: cost for 20, 40 and 100 reps

You do not need a second CRM to fix the field half. Each row below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read October 10, 2026.

Field toolPublished price, vendor's wordsMinimum or tier rule
Badger Maps Business"$58 /mo Per user, billed annually""Monthly and annual pricing available with no lock in."
RepMove Accelerate"80 user / month Billed annually""FOR 11+ USERS"; Sales Pro at 54 is "FOR UP TO 10 USERS"
Map My Customers Industry Leader"$99 /user/mo paid annually"Minimum 5 users; "Plans are based on a 12-month commitment"
SimplyDepo"$49 / rep / mo" for 16 to 49 reps; its guide says pricing "scales with your business, not your user count""No minimum users"; billing period not stated next to the price
Lead Mapper$27 per user per month, $47 with AINo minimum, monthly billing, 7 day trial without a sales call
RepsLead Mapper per year, monthly billingBadger Business per year, annual billingRepMove Accelerate per year, annual billingMap My Customers per year, annual billing
20$6,480$13,920$19,200$23,760
40$12,960$27,840$38,400$47,520
100$32,400$69,600$96,000$118,800

Our arithmetic from published per user prices, for example 40 x $27 x 12 = $12,960 and 40 x $80 x 12 = $38,400. RepMove's step means the 11th rep moves the bill from $540 to $880 a month, billed annually (10 x $54 against 11 x $80). The same 11 reps on Lead Mapper: $297 a month, billed monthly (11 x $27). Start free, no sales call. Your CRM and ERP stay on the plan you have. Full price pages: Badger Maps pricing, RepMove pricing and Map My Customers pricing.

Which systems the field layer sits on

Lead Mapper reads accounts and contacts from HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho CRM, Microsoft Dynamics, NetSuite, Close, Keap, Attio, Zendesk Sell, Less Annoying CRM and GoHighLevel, with the custom fields you filter on, and changes nothing in your CRM. If your book lives in Epicor Prophet 21, SAP or a spreadsheet, we build the connection or load your account list for your team. Today each rep sees his stops in order with drive mode; we set up visit cadence by account tier and build the write-back of visit notes into your CRM with you, so the parking lot write-up lands in a field the CRM already knows. For sector detail see industrial distribution and food and beverage distribution; if your drivers sell and invoice off the truck, that is route accounting software, a different tool.

Tomorrow morning: one hour, 40 reps, four branches

This runs on your own CRM data today.

  • Put every active account on the map, filtered by the revenue band or tier field your CRM already holds.
  • Draw a 45 minute drive time area around each branch and each rep's home. Count the accounts inside. Accounts that sit in no area are the ones most likely to go unvisited.
  • Give each rep the 7 or 8 top tier accounts closest together in his area. That is the benchmark team median route of 7.8 planned stops; the middle half of routes runs 6 to 22.
  • Route them from the rep's start point and send them to the phone tonight. Tomorrow nobody builds Tuesday from memory.

Run it for one branch first, then roll it out to the other three the same week. If a rep's best day still has a 70 minute leg, the territory is wrong, not the rep. Or send us your branch addresses and we build the first drive time territories with you. Run it on your accounts.

Your CRM for distributors plus Lead Mapper, four steps

  1. Connect your CRM by sign-in, or NetSuite by token. Accounts and contacts arrive on the map within 30 minutes, custom fields included.
  2. Filter by tier, branch, revenue band or any field your CRM already holds.
  3. Draw territories by hand, by boundary or as drive time areas from 1 to 60 minutes, one per rep.
  4. Route to the phone. Stops in the best order from each rep's start, multi-day routes you can share with each rep, drive mode in Google Maps or Apple Maps, export to PDF, KML, CSV, GPX or a calendar file.

Next: the setup guides for HubSpot and Pipedrive, our test of the best field sales app, and the route data behind this page in the field sales benchmark.

FAQ

Questions, answered.

The one your reps actually use, and in Distribution Strategy Group's 2022 survey only 50% of reps and sales leaders regularly used theirs. Most distributors do not need a second CRM; they need the field half on top of the one they have. Lead Mapper puts your CRM accounts on a map, draws drive time territories and plans each rep's route for $27 per user per month.

Because entry happens after the visit, in the truck. Chris Mitchell, a former outside rep and now founder of the CRM company ClearRove, wrote in MDM on August 19, 2026 that outside sales "falls apart afterward, usually in the parking lot" and estimates pure CRM entry at 2 to 4 hours per week per rep. When the CRM gives nothing back for the next stop, reps do the minimum.

We could not find those figures in DSG's 2022 study "The State of CRM in Distribution", the one that compares 2017 and 2022. It shows respondents with no CRM at 32% in 2017 and 15% in 2022, and "only 50%" of reps and sales leaders using the CRM regularly. The other side of those numbers is 68% and 85% with some CRM (our subtraction). The 2022 sample was 96 respondents, 30 of them not distributors; the PDF does not state the 2017 sample.

Lead Mapper is the map, territory and route layer on top of the CRM or ERP you run. It reads accounts from HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho CRM, Microsoft Dynamics, NetSuite and others, and your CRM stays the system of record.

Food distributors have the same field problem: many repeat accounts, visited often, spread over a territory. Lead Mapper puts those accounts on a map by territory and drive time and routes each rep's day. Connect your CRM, see those accounts on the map within 30 minutes, then route tomorrow's first day.

NetSuite and Microsoft Dynamics connect directly today. For Epicor Prophet 21, SAP or an account spreadsheet, we build the connection or load your account list for your team.

Lead Mapper is $1,080 a month or $12,960 a year for 40 reps, billed monthly with no minimum. At published annual rates Badger Maps Business is $27,840 a year, RepMove Accelerate $38,400 and Map My Customers $47,520. All our arithmetic from per user prices.

Where this comes from

Survey figures are quoted from Distribution Strategy Group: "The State of CRM in Distribution" (2022, PDF), the 2025 State of Distributor Sales report (PDF) and the 2026 State of Distributor Sales and CRM summary page. The parking lot account is Chris Mitchell in Modern Distribution Management, 19 August 2026, an opinion piece by the founder of a CRM company, with his own estimates. The IRCG quotes are from an undated article on naw.org, "How Often Should Sales Reps Call on Customers?". Ranking pages and field tool prices are from each vendor's own page, read 10 October 2026. Team costs are our multiplication of published per user prices. Route and drive figures: Lead Mapper Field Sales Benchmark 2026, 3,508 planned routes, October 2025 to September 2026, no industry split; weekly hours are a model of one route per rep per working day.

Keep reading

Sourced comparisons, pricing breakdowns and the field-sales tooling behind them.

Your reps rate the app first. You decide after.

Your reps decide in 7 days, on their own phones. Connect your CRM in 30 minutes and give every rep a seat. $27 per user per month, no seat minimum, month to month.